Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Education

The Medical Education Department is committed to the on-going training, development and education of the Trust’s medical and clinical staff in line with the Trust objective to secure and develop a workforce to meet the needs of our patients and ensure our medical and dental clinical staff, have the ability, skills, knowledge and expertise to provide high quality, safe and effective services.

The Faculty

Name Title Email
Dr Nisha Nathwani Director of Medical Education
Dr Ritwik Banerjee Guardian of Safe Working
Dr Anamika Agrawal College Tutor - Anaesthetics
Dr Leigh Bissett Joint College Tutor - Emergency Medicine
Dr Aamir Tarique Joint College Tutor - Emergency Medicine
Dr Balaji Ramabhadran College Tutor - General Medicine
Dr Amy Carmichael Joint College Tutor - Neonates
Dr Doris Iyamabo Joint College Tutor - Neonates
Ms Myat Pann College Tutor - Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Miss Mala Subash College Tutor - Ophthalmology
Dr Usha Niranjan Joint College Tutor - Paediatrics
Dr Benila Ravindranathan Joint College Tutor - Paediatrics
Mr Rishi Talwar College Tutor - Surgical Specialties
Ms Neela Mukhopadhaya LED Tutor
Dr Jude Gnanapragasam Joint SAS Lead
Dr Waheed Murad Joint SAS Lead
Dr Kah Fai Wong Foundation Training Programme Director
Dr Minaxi Dattani Director - Undergraduates
Dr Anamika Agrawal Deputy Director - Undergraduates
Dr Muniswamy Hemavathi Joint Simulation Lead
Dr Shalini Rajendran Joint Simulation Lead
Dr Seema Sukhani Joint Simulation Lead
Ren Estacio Simulation & Clinical Skills Tutor / Ext: 8985
Dr Doris Iyamabo Joint SuppoRTT Champion
Dr Nisha Ramkumar Joint SuppoRTT Champion

Medical Education Administrative Staff

Name Title Contact Details
Sharon Fletcher Lead Medical Education Manager - Cross Site 
Ext: 7312

Makeda Bent Deputy Medical Education Manager (Operational)
Ext: 7531
Rehana Begum Deputy Medical Education Manager (Quality)
Ext: 8095

Carol Hylton GPST Senior Administrator 
Ext: 7199
Kiran Maqbool Foundation Senior Administrator
Ext: 8745
Zaheer Afsar Undergraduate Senior Administrator
Ext: 8852 / Mobile: 07974594453
Gillian Oduro Medical Education Administrator (Junior Doctor Induction, LEDs & Medical Education Website)
Ext: 2133 / Mobile: 07971960536
Susan Gill Medical Education Administrator (Senior & Junior M&D Study Leave, SAS & Sim Programme)
Ext: 8830
Jane Colclough Undergraduate Medical Education Administrator
Ext: 7200 / Mobile: 07971961695
Ruby Murad Medical Education Assistant (Room Bookings, Grand Round & Foundation Teaching)
Ext: 7006
Shelini Shah Medical Education Assistant (GPST Teaching)
Ext: 8853

Library and Knowledge Services Staff



Contact details


Head of Library 

Ext. 7164

Janine Hall

Librarian (Luton & Dunstable site) / Ext. 8983

Sultana Little

Library Assistant (Luton & Dunstable site) / Ext. 7201

Anna Nelson Trainee Library Assistant - (Luton & Dunstable site) / Ext. 7201
Andrew Tucker Library Assistant (Luton & Dunstable site) / Ext. 7201

How to Find Us
The main entrance to the COMET Centre is located on the ground floor of the old block of the Hospital with the Library and Training & Development on first floor.

Offices are open from Monday to Friday, 08.30 – 17.00.

The Library is Open 24/7 via the first floor entrance. (Access is via Hospital ID card)