Bedford Hospital: Bevan Library

ABC of Neurodevelopmental Disorders An accessible and up-to-date discussion of the most common neurodevelopmental disorders ABC of Neurodevelopmental Disorders In ABC of Neurodevelopmental Disorders, Dr Munib Haroon delivers an insightful and practical introduction to various neurodevelopmental conditions, as well as discussions about their most common comorbid mental health conditions. The author offers a broad overview of neurodiversity and neurodevelopmental disorders to help you understand how people who are neurodivergent may present in a clinical environment, how they should be assessed, and how they can best be managed. Each chapter provides a list of resources for further reading and for exploring these evolving, important, and fascinating topics in greater detail. You'll also find: A thorough introduction to ADHD, autism, intellectual developmental disorders, tics and Tourette's disorder, developmental co-ordination disorder and specific learning disorder An introduction to clinical and non-clinical outcomes for different neurodevelopmental disorders Chapters on the assessment of mental health conditions in children, young people and adults with neurodevelopmental disorders Discussion about the genetic basis of neurodevelopmental disorders, including a specific chapter on this topic A standalone chapter on Foetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder Aimed at doctors and mental health practitioners including community paediatricians, psychiatrists, psychologists, counsellors, addiction specialists, social workers and trainees in these fields. ABC of Neurodevelopmental Disorders will also benefit healthcare workers who regularly treat neurodivergent people in a variety of settings.

Psychiatry at a Glance is an up-to-date, accessible introductory and study text for all students of psychiatry. It presents 'need-to-know' information on the basic science, treatment, and management of the major disorders, and helps you develop your skills in history taking and performing the Mental State Examination (MSE). This new edition features: * Thoroughly updated content to reflect new research, the DSM 5 classification and NICE guidelines * All the information required, including practice questions, for the written Psychiatry exams * Extensive self-assessment material, including Extending Matching Questions, Single Best Answer questions, and sample OSCE stations, to reinforce knowledge learnt * A companion website at ataglanceseries.com/psychiatry featuring interactive case studies and downloadable illustrations Psychiatry at a Glance will appeal to medical students, junior doctors and psychiatry trainees, as well as nursing students and other health professionals and is the ideal companion for anyone about to start a psychiatric attachment or module.

This concise paperback summarizes basic and clinical sciences relevant to our understanding of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) with a particular emphasis on history, etiology, phenomenology, neurobiology, assessment, and treatment. Written by an internationally recognized clinician, researcher, and educator, the book ideally targets the learning needs of students, residents, and early-career practitioners, but also provides an updated overview with likely appeal for more experienced clinicians. The text is organized into succinct and well-referenced chapters. Critical information is easily discerned in accompanying key points, boxes, tables, and figures. References and suggestions for further reading are handy aids for readers who wish to obtain additional information on material described. Topics of special interest include assessment, approaches to initiating ADHD medications, controversies surrounding medication use, complementary and alternative treatments, and management of ADHD with co-occurring substance abuse. Of particular note, the author utilizes a developmental perspective that recognizes how the disorders manifestations and treatment needs change over the lifespan from childhood to adulthood. The book is not intended to be an encyclopedia covering everything known about ADHD, but is an easily read user-friendly introduction that provides a solid foundation for clinical management of the disorder.

Psychopathology lies at the centre of effective psychiatric practice and mental health care. Fish's Clinical Psychopathology has shaped the training and clinical practice of generations of psychiatrists. The fifth edition of this modern classic presents the clinical descriptions and psychopathological insights for which this text is renowned, and adds suggested questions to assist with eliciting key symptoms. It also covers recent revisions of diagnostic classification systems, including the World Health Organization's ICD-11: International Classification of Diseases. Clear and readable, this new edition provides concise descriptions of the signs and symptoms of mental illness and astute accounts of the varied manifestations of disordered psychological function. Designed for use in clinical practice, this is an essential text for students of medicine, trainees in psychiatry, and practising psychiatrists. It is also useful for psychiatric nurses, mental health social workers, clinical psychologists, and anyone engaged in the expanding field of mental health care.

This new fourth edition of the Oxford Handbook of Psychiatry is the essential, evidence-based companion to all aspects of psychiatry, from diagnosis and conducting a clinical interview to management by subspecialty. Fully updated to reflect changes to the legislature and classification of psychiatric disorders, and with coverage of the anticipated ICD-11 coding, this Handbook provides the latest advances in both clinical practice and management today.As in previous editions, the Handbook is indexed alphabetically by ICD-10 and DSM-5 codes,as well as a list of acute presentations for quick access in emergency situations. The practical layout helps the reader in making clinical diagnosis, and suggested differential diagnosis makes this title an invaluable guide to provide reassurance to health professionals when dealing with psychiatric issues. With a new chapter on Neuropsychiatry and a re-written section on gender dysphoria to reflect the biological and cultural developments in understanding and research since the previous edition, and filled with clinical observations, guidance, and commentary that reflects the authors' practical experiences of working in psychiatry, this Handbook is the indispensable guide for all trainee and practising psychiatrists.