Online Access to Knowledge Services: East and North Hertfordshire NHS Trust Knowledge and Library Services: Search for resources

Quick Search - Knowledge and Library Hub

Searching: Health and Care Evidence, from Health Education England

Type your keyword in search box above for quick access to all library e-resources and links to the individual databases for more in depth searching. Knowledge and Library Hub Basic user guide.

Use the search box above for quick access to all library e-resources and links to the individual databases for more in depth searching:

EbscoHost for searching - CINAHL, Medline
Ovid for searching - Medline Embase, Emcare, HMIC, AMED
Proquest for searching - Psychinfo, British Nursing Index, Medline

Login with your NHS OpenAthens account.

Don't have an OpenAthens account? - register here

About the Databases


Name	Description	Where
AMED	Allied and Complementary Medicine - literature from 1985 to the present	Go the Knowledge and Library Hub (search box above). Select your database from the column headed 'In Depth Searching'
BNI	British Nursing Index - literature from 1992 to the present
CINAHL	Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature - 1981 to the present

EMBASE	Excerpta Medica Database - literature from 1974 to the present. Drugs and pharmacology and other aspects of human medicine.
EMCARE	Nursing and Allied Health Professions - literature from 1995 to the present
HMIC	Health Management Information Consortium. Literature from 1979 to the present. Records from King's Fund and Department of Health
Medline	General Medical Database - literature from 1946 to the present
PsychInfo	Psychology and allied fields - literature from 1806 to the present
PubMed	General Medical Database - public domain version of Medline We have linked PubMed to our subscriptions so that you can now access full-text using your NHS OpenAthens Account and request from us where full text is not available.
PubMed Reminer	Useful for scoping literature reviews PubMed Reminer FAQs	Pubmed Reminer Explanatory Video
Tools for suggesting search terms	MESH on Demand Yale MESH Analyser Voyant_Tools.org
Other places to search	For further information about the following links visit our A-Z List. NICE Evidence Cochrane, Epistemonikos and TRIP for systematic reviews. BMJ Best Practice and Clinical Key (Point of Care Tools) Google Scholar, ScienceOpen, Microsoft Academic Check out our page on Google and alternative search engines
ISSG Search Filter Resource	The UK InterTASC Information Specialists' Sub-Group (ISSG) Search Filter Resource. The most comprehensive collection of search filters available, and always a good place to start. You will have to decide which filter you want to use, depending on the scope of your search and how much leeway you have with sensitivity and specificity. For 'native interface' e.g. Medline via OVID you will need an SR filter in Ovid syntax. There are plenty on the ISSG SFR. You could use a PubMed filter however you would need to be confident that you have translated it across properly. It's always preferable to use a filter that was designed and tested in the interface & syntax you choose to use. Differences between interfaces (e.g. EBSCO, OVID, PubMed, Proquest etc.) will affect the performance of strategies, so no matter how faithfully you try to translate a set of terms or filter from one interface/host to another, the numbers will always vary slightly.
Social Policy and Practice	Social Policy and Practice database allows users to benefit from advanced search functionality, information tools and a modern, intuitive interface. Social Policy and Practice is available exculsively through OvidSP.