Click here to return to the home screen
|
Resource/Useful Link |
What is it and what is it used for? |
Subject |
|---|---|---|
|
All Our Health consists of evidence based e-learning sessions to support all health and care professionals to prevent illness protect health Public Health England’s All Our Health framework is a call to action to all health and care professionals to embed prevention within their day to day practice. Through educational materials, tools and resources, All Our Health helps professionals make an even greater impact in preventing illness, protecting health and promoting wellbeing. |
e-learning |
|
|
Click on the link to the left to access the online registration form. For more information about what NHS OpenAthens is click on this link. |
NHS OpenAthens |
|
|
BMJ Best Practice is a "point of care information tool" - giving access to curated, evidence-based information wherever and whenever it is needed. The database is designed to provide clinicians with quickly accessible patient consult information. It is similar to DynaMed Plus and Up-to-Date in its purpose, with both a web and mobile app version. BMJ Best Practice can be used to search thousands of clinical topics and over 6,000 clinical guidelines. See also Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit from BMJ Best Practice |
Point of Care Tool
POC
Medical Reference Tool |
|
|
BMJ Case Reports is an award winning journal that delivers a focused, peer-reviewed, valuable collection of cases in all disciplines so that healthcare professionals, researchers and others can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions. All articles are peer reviewed and copy edited before publication Follow these instructions to submit a case report using the library's fellowship code (available on request from the library staff) |
e-journal
Case Reports |
|
|
The British National Formulary is the unrivalled guidance on prescribing, dispensing and administering medicines. |
Pharmacology Pharmacy Prescribing |
|
|
The British National Formulary for Children is the unrivalled guidance on prescribing, dispensing and administering medicines to children. |
Pharmacology Pharmacy Prescribing |
|
|
ELMS is the book catalogue that we share with other NHS and healthcare libraries in the East of England. Search across the entire collection or select Staff Library Lister to search our catalogue alone. |
Book Catalogue |
|
|
The Care Certificate workbook is a free downloadable resource to support the training process and help you and your new workers cover parts of the Care Certificate. There's a workbook for each standard supported by an introduction and glossary. Each standard includes knowledge content and ends with a section where learners can record their understanding. When you download the workbook, please save it first and then begin to complete. If you don't do this you are in danger of losing text you have typed in. |
Care Certificate
Clinical skills |
|
|
The Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine develops, promotes and disseminates better evidence for healthcare. |
Evidence Based Medicine
EBM
EBP |
|
|
This is a link to Monash University's citing and referencing tutorials and guidance which you may find useful. If you are studying with a particular University or College, please consult their guidance. |
Citing Referencing |
|
|
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine from Elsevier, a publisher and provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. Our subscription includes access to many of the core textbooks and journals that are published by Elsevier. |
Point of Care Tool
POC
Search
e-journals
e-books |
|
|
Clinical Skills.net is an online educational resource in the UK to support training and best practice in clinical skills and patient care! It contains more than 250 guidelines* on clinical skills procedures, all in highly illustrated step-by-step format and is written by specialist authors and editors |
Clinical skills
Care certificate |
|
|
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. |
Evidence Based Medicine
Search
EBM
EBP |
|
|
YouTube video. |
Critical Appraisal |
|
|
Critical Appraisal Skills Programme - Click on link 1 to the left to find out more about the programme. Click on this link or link 2, to access a set of eight critical appraisal tools designed to be used when reading research. These include tools for Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule. These are free to download and can be used by anyone under the Creative Commons License. |
Critical Appraisal |
|
|
YouTube video explaining Critical Thinking. |
Critical Appraisal |
|
|
Databases - Embase, CINAHL, Medline, PsychInfo and more
|
The NHS provides a range of healthcare databases for NHS staff to access free of charge. You will need to login with an NHS OpenAthens account to access free full-text and more. For more information click on the link to the left to access the databases and training modules. Library staff can provide you with searching skills training. Contact us to make an appointment.
|
Databases
|
|
The Department of Health and Social Care supports ministers in leading the nation’s health and social care to help people live more independent, healthier lives for longer. DHSC is a ministerial department, supported by 28 agencies and public bodies. |
Department of Health
DoH |
|
|
EBM - Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit from BMJ Best Practice |
This toolkit is designed to help you develop EBM skills The articles are intended to introduce the key methods of EBM such as clarifying a clinical question, designing a search and appraising, synthesising and assessing quality of the evidence. |
Evidence Based Medicine
EBM
EBP |
|
"ecancermedicalscience is an open access cancer journal focused on under-resourced communities. In order to help reduce global inequalities in cancer care and treatment, we provide free access to all articles from the point of publication and we only charge authors who have specific funding to cover publication costs. The journal considers articles on all aspects of research relating to cancer, including molecular biology, genetics, pathophysiology, epidemiology, clinical reports, controlled trials (in particular if they are independent or publicly funded trials), health systems, cancer policy and regulatory aspects of cancer care". |
e-journal |
|
|
e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH) is a Health Education England (HEE) Programme working in partnership with the NHS and professional bodies to support patient care by providing e-learning to educate and train the health and social care workforce. |
e-learning |
|
|
The eLearning Repository is an extensible 'search and discover platform to support the discovery and sharing of eLearning objects and learning resources held both within the Repository and at external locations. |
e-learning |
|
|
“Bias enters health studies at all stages and often influences the magnitude and direction of results. To obtain the least biased information, researchers must acknowledge the potential presence of biases and take steps to avoid and minimise their effects. Equally, in assessing the results of studies, we must be aware of the different types of biases, their potential impact and how this affects interpretation and use of evidence in healthcare decision making. To better understand the persistent presence, diversity, and impact of biases, we are compiling a Catalogue of Bias, stemming from original work by David Sackett. The entries are a work in progress and describe a wide range of biases – outlining their potential impact in research studies”. |
Evidence Based Medicine
EBM
EBP
Critical Appraisal
Bias |
|
|
Future Learn offers a diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. These are delivered one step at a time, and are accessible on mobile, tablet and desktop, so you can fit learning around your life. They believe learning should be an enjoyable, social experience, so their courses offer the opportunity to discuss what you’re learning with others as you go, helping you make fresh discoveries and form new ideas. When you join a free course, you can access it for the duration period plus two weeks, starting either from the start date or the date you joined the course - whichever is later. More information about free and premium courses can be found here |
E-learning |
|
|
Geeky Medics is an online medical education platform. It includes information, questions, videos etc. They have a YouTube channel (see below) and a Twitter account - @geekymedics |
Medical Education |
|
|
Geeky Medics YouTube channel. |
Medical Education |
|
|
and alternatives: Microsoft Academic Science Open |
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You might like to try these as well:
Science Open is a discovery platform with interactive features for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it |
Search
Search engine |
|
Guidance and Pathways (NICE) |
Guidance and Pathways from NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence) |
NICE guidance
NICE Pathways |
|
Public Health Information on Hertfordshire County Council’s website. |
Public Health |
|
|
Public Health learning materials. |
Public Health |
|
|
Health Education England (HEE) and NHS Education for Scotland (NES) have collaborated to develop a new, free e-learning module for people working in health and care to understand the role health literacy plays in the health and social care systems. |
e-learning
Health literacy |
|
|
The independent national champion for people who use health and social care services. |
Health |
|
|
Public library services and resources in Hertfordshire |
Public Library
Public Libraries |
|
|
Knowledge for Healthcare and Library Quality Improvement Outcomes |
The Knowledge for Healthcare development framework sets out an ambitious vision for the provision and transformation of Library and Knowledge Services in the NHS in England. |
KfH
Knowledge for Healthcare
NHS Libraries |
|
Health Education England released the Learning Hub on Friday (29 May 2020). The Learning Hub is a new digital platform that provides easy access to a wide range of resources that are pertinent to education and training in health and care. New features will be frequently released to provide a comprehensive learning experience for users. You are invited to access the Learning Hub (https://learninghub.nhs.uk) either using eligible e-Learning for Healthcare log in details, NHS Open Athens, or by creating a Learning Hub account. The Learning Hub support site (https://support.learninghub.nhs.uk/) offers a range of frequently asked questions (FAQs), as well as further guidance, including a 'Getting Started' quick reference guide, and support articles to help introduce you to using the Learning Hub. If you have any questions or require further support, contact the Learning Hub team: enquiries@learninghub.nhs.uk. |
Learning
e-learning |
|
|
“Our vision is to provide resources and expertise that will help UK pharmacists at the beginning of their careers to tackle the clinical problems that will confront them throughout their professional lives. This site is aimed at pre-registration and foundation level pharmacists in hospitals”. |
Pharmacy Pharmacists Learning e-learning Prescribing |
|
|
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM (National Library of Medicine (USA)) controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed. Links to tutorials and help are included on this web page. |
MESH |
|
|
Helps identify the reason why some known relevant articles are missing in the initial search result set, and serves as a "scoping search" tool to help identify potential new search terms and phrases. |
MESH |
|
|
Use the MeSH Browser, an online vocabulary look-up aid, to build searches in PubMed. For instance, if you want to search cancer of the jaw, finding the MeSH term will help you narrow down your results. The actual MeSH term is "Jaw Neoplasms" and it is further subdivided into additional catagories. |
MESH |
|
|
MeSH on Demand identifies MeSH® terms in your submitted text (abstract or manuscript). MeSH on Demand also lists PubMed similar articles relevant to your submitted text. Copy and paste your text into the search box. |
MESH |
|
|
Login to MIDIRS via the OVID.com platform and login with our NHS OpenAthens account For more information about the database and to set up a personal subscription visit... |
MIDIRS (Midwives Information and Resources Service) non-for-profit educational charity provides the world’s largest midwifery-specific article reference database, providing over 250,000 article references on a wide range of maternity care topics. (Does not include full-text articles – request full-text from the library). |
Midwifery
Midwives |
|
As medicine advances, health needs change and society develops, the NHS has to continually move forward so that in 10 years time we have a service fit for the future. The NHS Long Term Plan is drawn up by frontline staff, patients groups, and national experts to be ambitious but realistic. |
NHS |
|
|
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care. |
NICE |
|
|
(Mark Allen Group) “MAG Online Library is home to over 40 journals and periodicals, and serves millions of articles every year to users all over the world. MAG Online Library plays a distinct role in helping people qualify, practice and, ultimately, achieve the shared goal of improving the lives of the people they care for, whether in a hospital, the community, or in a nursery or school”. |
Journals |
|
|
“Every month, the NHS in England publishes anonymised data about the drugs prescribed by GPs. But the raw data files are large and unwieldy, with more than 700 million rows. We're making it easier for GPs, managers and everyone to explore - supporting safer, more efficient prescribing”. |
Pharmacy Pharmacists Prescribing |
|
|
The PSSRU is one of the leading social care research groups, not just in the UK but internationally. |
Social Care |
|
|
“The subject areas in this guide contain websites which provide open access to clinically-oriented podcasts. Podcasts are audio recordings which can be listened to online, downloaded for playback via mobile devices such as iPods or smart phones or tablets, or converted to CD. Podcast series can often be subscribed to, so that each new broadcast is automatically downloaded. Each of these sites are targeted towards health professionals. They deliver a broad mix of lectures, interviews, conversations, opinions and commentary. The content length can range from a few minutes to well over an hour”. |
Podcasts Medical Education Nursing Education Learning |
|
|
The Population Wellbeing Portal is free to access by anyone who can positively impact public health and wellbeing. The Portal offers free access to education, training and professional development resources, to help deliver improvements in public health and prevention. Providing a central location for numerous e-learning resources, reading material, guidance, toolkits and videos, factsheets and many more resources relating to population health. |
e-learning |
|
|
Information resources for public health staff in England. |
Public Health |
|
|
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. |
PubMed MESH |
|
|
PubMed is a tool for PubMed query building and literature mining. |
PubMed MESH |
|
|
e-book of clinical and cancer nursing procedures. |
RMM e-book Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures |
|
|
“SCIE improves the lives of people of all ages by co-producing, sharing, and supporting the use of the best available knowledge and evidence about what works in practice”. |
Social Care |
|
|
Search filters are collections of search terms designed to retrieve selections of records. Search filters may be designed to retrieve records of research using a specific study design or by topic or by some other feature of the research question. |
Search Searching |
|
|
Searching Skills e-learning - How to search the literature effectively |
These modules are designed to help the healthcare workforce (clinical and non-clinical) build confidence to search published literature for articles and evidence relevant to their work, study and research. |
e-learning |
|
“Our main purpose is simple: to improve the use of medicines to help people live longer, fuller lives. We do this by joining together experts to create a rich source of impartial advice for pharmacists, GPs and clinicians to use free of charge”. |
Pharmacy Pharmacists Prescribing |
|
|
Statistics |
R is a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics. It compiles and runs on a wide variety of UNIX platforms, Windows and MacOS.
GNU PSPP is a program for statistical analysis of sampled data. It is a free as in freedom replacement for the proprietary program SPSS, and appears very similar to it with a few exceptions. https://www.gnu.org/software/pspp/ |
Statistics |
|
The Topol Review outlined recommendations to ensure the NHS is the world leader in using digital technologies to benefit patients. It will involve implementing technologies such as genomics, digital medicine, artificial intelligence and robotics at a faster pace and on a greater scale than anywhere else in the world. |
NHS Digital Technology |
|
|
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Their motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something they aim to deliver for every single search. As well as research evidence they also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news. |
Search engine
Evidence Based Medicine
Search
EBM
EBP |
|
|
Search for courses from the University of Hertfordshire. |
University Learning Education |
|
|
A 3D visualization and learning tool used to explore the systems of the human body. It contains more than 4,600 anatomical structures, including all major organs and systems. Open the link on any ENH Trust networked computer and create an account by clicking on "sign up". Subscription includes both web and mobile access.
|
Anatomy and Physiology EBP |
|
| Writing for Publication (BioMed Central) | BMC’s guide to writing and publishing a scientific manuscript in a BioMed Central journal. | Writing |