Guide to qualitative evidence synthesis: Evidence-informed policy-making: Using research in the EVIPNET Framework
The document contains guidance on searching for qualitative reviews, and critically appraising them.
JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis
"The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis is designed to provide authors with a comprehensive guide to conducting JBI systematic reviews.".
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews
"The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions."
This free tool is provided by the Institute for Evidence-Based Healthcare, Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine, Bond University, Gold Coast Australia. Click on the link for further information including help and de-duplication.
Guide to Searching for Systematic Reviews
Click on the link for King's College's comprehensive guide to searching for systematic reviews
Two journal articles that may be of interest
Seventy-five trials and eleven systematic reviews a day: how will we ever keep up?
"PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome."
"PROSPERO is produced by CRD and funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR)."
Biomed News (BIMS) "is an emerging service for the dissemination of new research papers as they appear in PubMed."
"Bims is organized as a series of topic-specific reports."
Before embarking on a systematic review search, you could check this database to see what research is currently in progress.
Go to
What is it?
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
The databases are:
For further information click here
How do I access it?
Click on the logo above or visit https://www.cochranelibrary.com/
Is there an APP?
Yes. Visit this link for guidance
Who can use it? - any NHS member of staff who works in England.
What can I use it for?
It is used when searching for evidence on the effectiveness of an intervention. This page on the Cochrane website explains in more detail what systematic reviews are and why they are important sources of clinical evidence.
Check out the videos on the Cochrane Library YouTube channel
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. It can be used to search for systematic reviews, images, videos, full-text journal articles and more. You can login with your NHS OpenAthens account to access the Pro version and/or create a personal account so that you can save your searches and sign up to alerts. There is an App for iPhone and iPad. Click on the logo above or visit https://www.tripdatabase.com/
The systematic review process is explained in these short videos